Redmen take first at Edison Invite

A struggling Bellevue golf program has turned things around in 2013.
Don Hohler
Sep 24, 2013

Jan Terveen’s club followed its Northern Ohio League tournament win over the weekend, one that also won them a league championship, their first since 1993, with a victory in the prestigious Edison Invitational at Sawmill Creek Monday afternoon.

Perkins finished four strokes back at 326.

Westlake scored a 327, followed by Port Clinton (336) and Huron (337) to round out the top five.

Bellevue won the tournament, despite its No. 1 player shooting a 90.

“Dylan DeWitt is having a tough go right now,” Terveen said. “But, as has happened so many times this season, others have stepped up. This afternoon it was our No. 5 player, Tyler Rospert. He shot an 81.”

Thomas Pressler had a steady round for the champions with a 76. Isaac Hartley also broke 80 with a 79 while Ryan Wilburn penciled in an 86.

“What was great about winning this tournament is it probably the toughest field we have been in all year. The Catawba Tournament was also strong but not as many teams,” Terveen said.

Olmsted Falls was the defending champion. They finished 10th on Monday.

The runner-up finish by Perkins almost gave the tournament honoree Randy Manuella (actually the entire Manuella Family was honored at the 16th annual event) a huge coaching gift.

“It would have been nice,” Manuella said. “But just finishing second in a field such as this one says we are a very competitive.

“I guess you could say it was the second time in a week we didn’t quite get the job done. We finished second in the SBC. Our game is in good shape though. We’ll see what we can do in the sectional,” the fifth-year coach added.

The Pirates received their numbers from Maxx Tamburrino at 77, Logan Dwelle 81, Tyler Puckerin 82, Tanner Trent 86 and Brayden Hupp 88.

Huron’s best score was from Eric Myles, its No. 2 player, with an 81.

Keegan Bollenbacher had an 83, Alex Kline 86, Jake Lehrer 87 and Jack Springer 96.

Port Clinton’s Joey Kurtz used five birdies to shoot a tournament record 1-under par 70 for medalist honors.

“It was my career best,” he said.. “Not a great putting round, probably 30, but a good ball-striking day.”

Others for the Redskins included Shane Meek (79), Anthony Paradiso (90), Austin Krupp (97) and Mitchell Mueller (108).

Norwalk and Willard both shot 340.

The Crimson Flashes winning the tie-breaker on the fifth score, 91-92, to snare seventh.

Norwalk placed eighth.

Jake Tanner led the Flashes with a 79.

Aaron Feltner posted an 83, Logan Schaub 87 and  Brayden Bruner 91.

For the Truckers, Jacob Gilson was the low at 84.

Mason Berry and Max Berry each shot an 85, Travis Cring 86 and then Chase Hicks 92.

Clyde shot a 348, getting its best score from Luke Hohenstein at 75. Zach Riemer (90), Brett Combs (91), Eli Hillman (92) and Tristin Pocock (93) rounded out the Fliers’ numbers.

St. Paul totaled 363.

Steven Farmer, the team’s No. 1 player, penciled in a 85. The rest were Thomas Ruffing at 91, Nate Pylant 93, Matt Ware 94 and Chandler Fondriest 95.

Margaretta totaled 364 strokes.

Austin Spicer shot an 88, Steve Stark (90), Gage Byington (91), Toby Miller (95) and Logan Brauer (100).

Edison finished after Margaretta.

Marshal Tinnel was low for Shayne Fischer’s club with a 79.

Others included freshman Matt Kowalski at 93, sophomore Jarrett Burns 96, junior Adam Wolf 101 and senior Dylan Neher 104.

The all-tournament teams were named based on scores.

Kurtz and Meek; Tamburrino Perkins; Pressler and Hartley; Tanner; Hohenstein and Tinnel were among those receiving plaques  from Tournament Director Shayne Fischer.