Article Export

Five area standouts earn first-team all-Ohio honors

Huron, Norwalk, Perkins and Clyde had players named first-team all-Ohio in two different divisions. Staff
Dec 4, 2013

In Division III, an area trio that led their respective teams to the Region 8 playoffs were recognized as some of the best in Ohio.

At running back, Norwalk junior Breck Turner was named first team after rushing for 1,816 yards and 31 touchdowns on just 165 attempts (11.0 yards per rush). The Truckers finished the regular season at 9-1 for the first time since 1974, and also qualified for the playoffs for the first time since winning the Class AA state championship in 1974.

At defensive back, Perkins' Dale Irby was also a first team choice. The senior standout was also the Sandusky Bay Conference Outstanding Perfomer and Northwest District Defensive Player of the Year. He allowed one completed pass his way all season, and intercepted seven passes, returning three of them for touchdowns.

The Pirates finished the regular season 10-0 and had a No. 4 final ranking in the AP poll.

At linebacker, Clyde's Kade Long was also a first team selection after finishing with 136 tackles (10 for loss) while adding an interception and a sack. The Fliers finished the regular season 9-1 and No. 12 in the final AP poll.

In Division V, a pair of Huron standouts were first team selections on the defensive side of the ball.

Linebacker Zach Souter, who finished with 140 tackles (14 for loss) and an interception, was chosen after being named the Northwest District Defensive Player of the Year.

He was joined by defensive back Cody Thompson (50 tackles, 2 INTs) on the first team. The Tigers went 7-3 in the regular season and won a pair of playoff games, the first postseason wins for Huron since 2005.

A pair of area players were second team All-Ohio choices, as Clyde offensive lineman Konner Garcia earned the honors in Division III and Western Reserve wide receiver Nate Good (51 catches, 854 yards, 7 TDs) was selected in Division V.

Perkins' defensive end Kyle Lewis (86 tackles, 3 sacks) and offensive tackle Jacob Yaratch were third team choices for the Pirates in Div. III. Freshman punter Griffin Rinner (43.6 average) was a third team choice for Norwalk.

Special mention selections in Div. III included Clyde's Derek Gray (WR), along with Norwalk's Grant Hull (K), Matt Davidson (DB) and Jared Cook (LB).

In Division V, Huron's Domenic Mayle (OL) and Edison's Austin Utter (LB) were also special mention selections.



Congrats to all of you on receiving such a high honor!