Cahill earns 3rd straight NW District POY honors

Bellevue’s Santoro, Port Clinton’s Colston, Oak Harbor’s Cecil also 1st team Staff
Mar 7, 2014
The honors continue to flow in for arguably the greatest girls basketball player in area history.

Clyde senior Amanda Cahill was named the Associated Press Northwest District Player of the Year for a third consecutive season, it was announced Thursday.

Cahill, a 6-foot-2 nationally-ranked forward, averaged 20.2 points, 10.2 rebounds, 5.2 assists, 3.2 steals and 2.8 blocks this season for the Fliers (24-2). She shot 68 percent from the field this season, and 86 percent from the free-throw line.

The Indiana University commit ended her 105-game career with 2,113 points (20.2), 1,013 rebounds (9.6), 485 assists (4.6), 381 steals (3.6) and 282 blocks (2.7).

As the only four-time Sandusky Bay Conference Outstanding Performer, Cahill is also expected to be named the All-Ohio Player of the Year in Div. II for the third straight season next week. In her four years, Clyde reached two state semifinals and a regional championship, while losing just six games.

Of the six losses, all were in the state tournament or the Classic in the Country to state-ranked opponents. The McDonald’s All-American Game nominee was also a four-time Ohio High School Basketball Coaches Association District 6 Player of the Year, and is ranked No. 1 in her class with a 4.0 GPA.

She is also expected to be a finalist for the prestigious AP Ms. Basketball award next week.

Also in Div. II, Bellevue junior Carly Santoro was a first team choice for the regional finalist Lady Red (22-4). Santoro averaged 22.6 points, 3.2 rebounds and 3.6 steals this season for Bellevue, and has more than 1,500 career points before her senior season.

Bellevue plays Toledo Rogers (22-4) in tonight’s regional championship game at Ontario High School.

Rounding out the area first team choices was Port Clinton senior Tiffany Colston. A 1,000-point scorer, Colston helped a resurgence of Port Clinton basketball over the past three seasons, and averaged 13.5 points and 8.0 rebounds this season.   

Colston also shot 58 percent from the field and 80 percent from the foul line for Port Clinton (17-5).

Also in Div. II, Clyde junior Kelsey Michaels and Willard junior Hannah Schloemer were both second team selections. Michaels averaged 13.6 points and 7.8 rebounds for the Fliers while shooting 60 percent from the field. Schloemer averaged 10.8 points, 3.1 rebounds and 3.5 assists for the Crimson Flashes (19-4).

Earning third team honors was Norwalk senior Sydnie Fetherolf, a key piece to Norwalk’s historic season. Fetherolf averaged 9.1 points, 4.5 rebounds and 3.5 steals for Norwalk, which finished 17-7 to break the program mark for wins in a season by five.

Bellevue senior center Makala Daniel was also a third team choice after averaging 10.3 points and 7.8 rebounds per game for the Lady Red.

Eight players earned honorable mention in Div. II. Clyde’s Breanne Michaels and Lexi Weber were chosen, as was Perkins’ Abbey Seeholzer and Emily Wagner, Sandusky’s Aschelle Smith-Crager and Azyah Smith-Crager, Norwalk’s Kailee Flowers and Willard’s Hannah Adams.

Also in Div. II, Norwalk coach Brock Manlet was named Co-Coach of the Year with Toledo Rogers’ Lamar Smith. In three seasons, Manlet has compiled a 36-32 record at Norwalk.

Prior to his arrival, Norwalk had finished 3-18 and had just two winning seasons in the 39-year history of girls basketball at NHS. The previous mark for most wins was 12, which was done twice, in the 1976-77 and 1981-82 seasons. The eight league wins is also a program best, while a third place finish equals the best-ever finish in the NOL (1976-77).

Oak Harbor’s Cecil first team; Kontak Coach of Year

In Division III, Oak Harbor sophomore Andrea Cecil was named to the first team. Cecil averaged 19.6 points and 7.6 rebounds per game this season while shooting 59 percent from the floor for the Rockets (20-5), who finished as district runners-up after a last-second loss to Bucyrus Wynford last week.

Earning honorable mention honors included Huron’s Ashley Myers, New London’s Kelly Norrod and Western Reserve’s Miah Ward and Jacque Mullins.

Oak Harbor coach Tom Kontak was named Co-Coach of the Year for Div. III with Findlay Liberty-Benton’s Nate Irwin. After a successful stint at Genoa, Kontak arrived at Oak Harbor last season and has guided the Rockets to final records of 16-8 and 20-5, good for a 36-13 mark overall.

Six named honorable mention

A duo of teammates from three different area teams all earned honorable mention selections to highlight the Div. IV choices.

St. Paul’s Bella Stoll and Lydia Ott, along with Monroeville’s Samantha Reer and Paige Leitz and Danbury’s Megan Stephens and Erin Lavelle all earned honorable mention honors.



Congratulations Amanda! Your career stats are out of this world!Good Luck at I.U.