Article Export

COMING UP: Classic in the Country

Perkins and Clyde play in the Classic in the Country Sunday at noon and 3:30 p.m.
Mark Hazelwood
Jan 15, 2012

Perkins and Clyde play in the Classic in the Country Sunday at noon and 3:30 p.m. The Classic in considered one of the countries premiere showcase tournaments with a wide array of state-wide talent.

Mark Hazelwood will blog during the event live, and recaps will be in Monday's Register.

Classic in the Country game schedule (Games played at Berlin Hiland High School)

10 a.m.: Findlay Liberty-Benton vs. Beverly Fort Frye
11:45 a.m.: Lima Bath vs. Columbus Aficentric
1:30 p.m.: Columbusorthland vs. West Holmes
3:15 p.m.: Mason vs. Reynoldsburg
5 p.m.: Cincinnati Princeton vs. Canton McKinley
6:45 p.m.: Kettering Fairmont vs. Twinsburg
8:30 p.m.: Cincinnati Withrow vs. Berlin Hiland

12 p.m.: Waterford vs. Perkins
1:45 p.m.: Lakota East vs. Reynoldsburg
3:30 p.m.: Clyde vs. Shaker Heights Hathaway Brown
5:15 p.m.: Toledootre Dame vs. Cincinnati Princeton
7 p.m.: Twinsburg vs. Mason
8:45 p.m.: Canton McKinley vs. Kettering Fairmont

10 a.m.: Austintown Fitch vs. Orrville
11:45 a.m.: Lorain vs. Tecumseh
1:30 p.m.: Springboro vs. Midpark
3:15 p.m.: Wadsworth vs. Toledootre Dame
5 p.m.: Toledo Rogers vs. Lakota East
6:45 p.m.: Hathaway Brown vs. West Holmes
8:30 p.m.:orth Canton Hoover vs. Berlin Hiland

NOTE: The Clyde junior varsity will play Hathaway Brown
atoon on Sunday. The Perkins JV team plays Lakota East
at 6 p.m. Sunday.

Division I commits at the Classic
Ameryst Alston, Canton McKinley (Ohio State)
Kiyanna Black, Columbus Aficentric (Ohio)
Caitie Craft, Findlay Liberty-Benton (Ohio State)
Symone Denham, Columbusorthland (Michigan)
Cedra Evans, Toledo Rogers (Xavier)
Lashawana Gatewood, Twinsburg (Appalachian State)
Briana Glover, Mason (Xavier)
Malina Howard, Twinsburg (Maryland)
Tazzie Shaw, Lakota East (Marshall)
Rachel Theriot, Midpark (Nebraska)
Kat Wells, Toledootre Dame (Toledo)
Olivia Wrencher, Lakota East (Butler)
Whitney Wyckoff, Lakoat East (Yale)
Aliyah Zantt, Reynolsdburg (Eastern Michigan)

NOTE: Alston is the reigning Ohio Ms. Basketball winner and is looking to become the fourth repeat winner since the award’s inception in 1989.

Classic in the Country IX facts
• 22 of the 29 teams in the Classic are ranked in the first AP state poll released Tuesday
• Defending state champions Twinsburg (Division I) and Shaker Heights Hathaway Brown (Division II) will be at the Classic.
• 17 of the 29 schools are Division I, six are Division II, four are Division III and two are Division IV.
• Of the 32 state champions that have been crowned since the inception of the Classic in the 2003-04 season, 23 have competed in the Classic in their championship season.
• The Classic selection committee is operating at a 72 percent rate of selecting state champions 14 months in advance of each event. Teams are selected 14 months in advance of the Classic. (Only 17 of the 96 AP poll champions in that span were crowned state champions).
• Since the inception of the Classic, 50 of the 128 state
semifinalists (39 percent) have competed in the Classic in
the season of their Final Four appearance.
• Every Ms. Basketball winner since the inception of the Classic in 2003-04, including six of the eight in the season they wereamed the state’s top player, played in the event.
• Every Ohio high school team that was rankedationally by ESPN/USA Today has competed in that year’s Classic.
• In the 160 games played in the Classic, the average point differential has been 11.5 points (.95 to 1.04 possession differential per quarter).
• 153 college coaches attended last season’s Classic in the Country. Five of the six BCS power conferences (ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Big East and SEC) were represented. Of the 32 Division I conferences, coaches from 22 of the conferences attended the Classic.
• For the fifth straight year, all four topational scouting services attended the event (All-Star Girls Report, Blue Star Index, Collegiate Girls Basketball Report andational Recruiting Report). Mark Lewis of ESPN HoopGurlz also attended the event for the third straight year.
• 28 Division I signees competed in last year’s Classic while among the 29 teams there were a total of 22 state titles, 48 Final Fours and 347 years of coaching experience.