Article Export

WRESTLING: Oak Harbor wins fourth consecutive SBC crown

The 2010 Sandusky Bay Conference Championships seemed to be a match between Oak Harbor and the best of rest. Oak Harbor won.
Michael Truax
Aug 25, 2010

The 2010 Sandusky Bay Conference Championships seemed to be a match between Oak Harbor and the best of rest.

Oak Harbor won.

The Rocket wrestlers continued their dominance in record-setting fashion on Saturday at Perkins High School, where they fielded seven champions and set a new team record for points.

The Rockets became the first squad to win four consecutive SBC championships since St. Mary Central Catholic won five in a row from 1978-1982.

Oak Harbor head coach George Bergman said that four in a row was a special achievement in the SBC, which features tough programs such as SMCC and Clyde, among others.

“It could be your first time, it could be your fourth time—It never gets old,” he said. “You see great coaching staffs and great traditions. Everybody pushes everybody else.

“To win it just one time is an honor. Four times is unbelievable, really.”

Oak Harbor also set a new record for team score in the conference tournament with 263.5 points, edging SMCC’s 2004 squad that scored 259.

Oak Harbor fielded seven champions, one off of the conference record (8) set by the Panthers in 2003. Twelve Rockets wrestled in the championship round, where they went 7-5.

Two of the Rockets’ champions, Drew Stone (125) and Mike Mallernee (171), won their fourth individual title to go with the team mark. 

Stone finished on top of the 125-pound class, which started with four wrestlers with 25-7 season records or better. He earned a technical fall over Port Clinton’s Logan Reichert, 17-2, for the title.

Mallernee beat defending 171 champ Alex Trautman in a 4-1 decision for his fourth title.

The Rockets also got wins from Tyler Hackworth at 119, where he pinned Zach Rawson and in the 140-pound weight class with Jake Cramer, where he won a decision over Edison’s Jordan Cole. Oak Harbor’s Ian Miller pinned Kalob Andrews in 145 and Konner Witt pinned Port Clinton’s Richard Harris in 160.

Oak Harbor heavyweight Zach Sandwisch avenged a loss in the SBC duals to Huron’s Nino Majoy with a 3-1 decision.  

Clyde scored a decisive second place with 195.5 points, ahead of Edison (172) and Perkins (121.5).

Clyde and Edison fielded three champs each. 

Clyde’s Dylan Stiffler dropped a weight class to 112, where he won a 5-3 decision over Joe Dauch of St. Mary.

Billy Ward, the Fliers’ 189, pinned Oak Harbor’s Sean McGee with 12 seconds remaining in regulation for Clyde’s second win.

Clyde 215 Trevor Strickland improved to 35-2 on the season with a 5-0 decision over the Rockets’ Jonny Bergman. 

Fliers head coach Rob Jennings said they were ready for state competition.

“I think we’re right where we want to be, to be honest,” he said. “As long as we can go in with that confidence and continue to build, when we go in next week anything can happen.

“To come in here and compete with the Oak Harbors and Edisons … It’s a feather in your cap to walk out of here with your head held high.”  

The Chargers’ Cam Michel moved down to the 103 class, where he intends to be for the upcoming sectionals, and pinned Perkins’ Bryon Logan in 3:21. 

Edison sophomores Kyle Burns (130) and Tyler Majoy (135) defeated Oak Harbor’s Alex and Zach Bergman, former SBC champions themselves.

Both Burns and Majoy trailed in the final minute of their matches before late comebacks. 

Burns score the go-ahead takedown with 14.8 seconds to go.

“He doesn’t quit coming at you,” Edison coach Davy Hermes said. “If the match was 20 minutes long, he’d wrestle 20 minutes.”

Majoy scored a takedown in the final second of regulation to tie the match at 8-8 and send it to overtime, where he pinned Zach Bergman. 

Perkins rounded out the tournament champions with Joey Snyder, normally a 145, wrestling at 152. He scored a 14-2 major decision over Oak Harbor’s Kyle Mincheff for the Pirates.

“We figured he couldn’t beat (Oak Harbor 145) Ian Miller, because Ian’s a freak,” Perkins coach Travis Crabtree said. “We decided to take our shot at 152, because we thought he could win it there.

“(Snyder) is stepping up, really listening,” he said. “He’s really putting it together at the right time.”

When the dust settled, six of the nine returning SBC champions had reclaimed their crowns.