Article Export

WRESTLING: SBC schools dominate Shelby sectional

SHELBY - Area schools graduated 41 of the 56 wrestlers from the Shelby sectional to districts at Marion Harding next week, led by Oak Harbor with 10. The four schools from the Sandusky Bay Conference combined to send 27 to districts, seven as champions. Staff
Aug 25, 2010

SHELBY — Area schools graduated 41 of the 56 wrestlers from the Shelby sectional to districts at Marion Harding next week, led by Oak Harbor with 10. The four schools from the Sandusky Bay Conference combined to send 27 to districts, seven as champions.

The Rockets’ delegation included five sectional champions, also a tournament-high.

Oak Harbor senior Drew Stone captured the 125-pound weight class with a second-round pin of Perkins’ Michael Snyder.

The Rockets pushed through their middleweights, Jake Kramer, Ian Miller and Konner Witt, in the 140, 145 and 152-pound weight classes, respectively. 

Kramer scored a win by default over Lexington’s Dan Kardasz in the finals for the 140 title. Ian Miller won the 145 with a 21-8 major decision over Lexington’s Drew Burrows in the finals. Konner Witt beat Port Clinton’s Jared Fleming on a technical fall, 17-1, for the 152-pound title.

Oak Harbor’s Tyler Hackworth finished second in the 119 class losing a 4-0 decision to Lexington’s Brandon Gambucci. Alex Bergman earned a trip to districts with a second place finish, falling to Nick Hile on a 1-0 decision. Heavyweight Zach Sandwisch also fell in the finals, pinned by Shelby’s Nick Wagoner in the final second of the first period.

The Rockets will also send 103 Alex Bowlick, finishing fourth, and Zach Bergman, finishing third, to the district tournament next week.

Eight wrestlers from Clyde will compete at Marion Harding next week.

The Fliers’ Trevor Strickland won the 215-pound weight class with a 6-1 decision over Cody Thompson of Madison. He improved to 38-2 with his four wins in Shelby.

Clyde’s Dylan Stiffler, wrestling at 112, fell to Lexington’s Calvin Campbell 3-2 in the finals for a second-place finish and a district berth.

Clyde’s Billy Ward finished second in the 189-pound weight class. Chris Rambo of Madison won by default over Ward in the finals.

Four Fliers earned third-place finishes. Zach Thurn won a 4-2 decision in the 125-pound class over Bellevue’s Damon Cheek. Eric Pumphrey (140), Brandon Flores (152) and Cody Ortolani (171) also have to prepare for districts in Marion next week. Clyde 160, Brad Smith, finished fourth, also good for a trip to districts. 

The Pirates finished fourth overall.

Seven Perkins wrestlers punched their tickets to districts with top-four finishes in Shelby.

“We read in the Bellevue Gazette and the Register that this was a tough sectional with Oak Harbor and Lexington,” Crabtree said. “We kind of took it personally. I’m glad we did. It felt good to finish ahead of Bellevue and Norwalk when nobody gave us any credit.”

Perkins freshman Bryon Logan won the 103-pound weight class for the Pirates, his first-ever tournament championship. In the finals, Logan beat Norwalk’s Kyle Lang, who came into the tournament with a 31-4 record.

“(Logan) really took it to him and wrestled hard,” Crabtree said. “He’s really improved on top and in finishing his takedowns.”

Michael Snyder finished second for the Pirates, earning a trip to districts next week. Snyder finished fourth in the SBC tournament just last week behind Stone. The Perkins freshman fell to Clyde’s Thurn in the SBC consolation match, 3-1 in OT, but exacted revenge on Saturday, beating Thurn in the semifinals on Saturday.

Senior Alex Trautman earned a trip to districts with a second-place finish. He fell to Mike Mallernee in the finals. Trautman is 0-3 versus Mallernee this season.

Cam Campbell overcame illness for a fourth-place finish in the 130 class. Perkins 189 Travis Davlin, heavyweight Brock Naufel and 145 Joey Snyder each finished fourth for trips to districts at Marion Harding next weekend.

Bellevue finished fifth with 138.5 points, falling to Perkins by virtue of a team tiebreaker. The Redmen will send a seven-man delegation to districts next week.

Shane Justice (135) and Will Stephens (160) each finished second for the Redmen. Casey Dodson (119) and Cody Rine (215) earned third-place finishes, while Damon Cheek (125), Chris Moore (152) and Brendan Adkinson (171).

Norwalk graduated four wrestlers to districts next week.

Kyle Lang led the Truckers with a second-place finish in the 103-pound class, behind Perkins’ Bryon Logan. Phil Hurst pinned Perkins’ Campbell in the consolation round for a third-place finish in the 130-pound class and a ticket to districts. Jake Montana (112) and Nick Davis (135) also made it to districts with fourth-place finishes in the tournament.

Port Clinton’s Jared Fleming, finishing second in the 152-pound class, and Greg Willis, third in the 112, are on their way to Marion Harding next week. Willis defeated Norwalk’s Montana in the consolation round of the sectional tournament for a third-place finish.

Three wrestlers from Willard, 103 Dominic Cummings and 160 Ben Petrie, finished in third place and will head to districts next week. Kyle Neidermeier fell to Bellevue’s Dodson in the consolation match for a fourth-place finish and trip to the sectionals. 



 1: Oak Harbor, 253; 2: Lexington, 216.5; 3: Clyde, 167; 4: Perkins, 138.5; 5: Bellevue, 138.5; 6: Norwalk, 111; 7: Tiffin Columbian, 88; 6: Port Clinton. 80.5; 9: Shelby, 63; 10: Madison, 62; 11: Willard, 42.5



Number of wrestlers going to distrcits by team:

Oak Harbor             10 Lexington                  9 Clyde                         8 Perkins                      7 Bellevue                    7 Norwalk                     4 Tiffin Columbian        3 Port Clinton               2   Shelby                        1 Madison                     2 Willard                        3